More than patience

Moving half-way across the world with a 9-month-old in tow takes a LOT of things. Onesies, bottles, toys, teethers, creams, gels, oils, and of course patience. Lots and lots of patience. Patience in HIGH doses. And it doesn’t stop once you’ve landed. Leaving daddy behind makes mommy a single-parent of sorts. Patience is daily… hourly… secondly…. CONSTANTLY called upon.

He’s little. And he’s mobile. And he’s a mess. And a monster on occasion. Fussy lots. Tired some. Teething pains and foody pickiness. Getting in, or on, or under everything in sight. Climbing and crawling. Whining and crying. He’s the typical 9-month old. And mommy’s alone most of the day with this little fellow and patience is a necessity.

But it’s so much MORE than patience. I need grace to get through each day. I need strength to carry a baby around and organize and move boxes and furniture and everything that we own. I need peace during the hours of baby happiness to remember that I don’t have to be working and can relax and enjoy my son. I need breath for the times when I get so stressed out and wound up. And I need forgiveness when I fail, as I often do, to be the best mother, or wife, or even person.

Grace from the Gracious

Strength from the Strong

Peace from the Peaceful

Breath from the Giver of Life

Forgiveness from the Reedeemer

It is so good that I worship such a BIG GOD. Who else could help one such as me? There is so much going on in our lives right now. Big steps and big worries. But thankfully we don’t have to do it alone. God is so gracious to provide me with the things that I need. Every day.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

 

One thought on “More than patience

  1. Hey Raleigh! this is so encouraging! yes His grace is sufficient for you! indeed we can rejoice for we have a shelter in the storm, our great refuge, who would never leave us and is ever present and near us, because He has promised to keep us till the end, to the glory and honor of His Holy name! praying for you and baby Steven! Take care 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

